Qualities of Nakshatras

Nakshatras are classified into  

Chara- Moveable 

Dhruva/Sthira- fixed 

Mridu- Tender 

Ugra- Violent 

Tikshna- Dreadful 

Laghu or Shipra- Swift 

Misra- Mixed 

The qualities of nakshatras are extensively used for mapping muhurthas. For instance, Sthira nakshatras are chosen for coronation, planting of trees, and laying foundation as they offer fixity. Every Muhurta is majorly chosen based on the prevailing Nakshatra’s quality and their attributes are factored in to find the right time for various activities. 

Popular astrology book ‘Muhurtha Chintamani’ suggests that the core qualities of the Nakshatras are accentuated when they coincide with vara- days of the week; based on the ruling planet of the day, the days also hold certain quality and imparts the same onto the prevailing Nakshatra. For example, Sunda ruled by Lord Surya who is the most steady planet in the solar system is mapped with Sthira Nakshatras’ qualities; Monda ruled Lord Chandra who is the fastest planet among the navagrahas logically coincides with Chara Nakshatras. 

Fixed- Sunday,  

Movable - Monday,  

Violent - Tuesday,  

Mixed - Wednesday,  

Swift - Thursday,  

Soft- Friday,  

Sharp- Saturday.  

Chara Nakshatras: Shravana, Dhanishta, Satabhisha, Punarvasu and Swati are movable or Chara nakshatras. Chara nakshatras are auspicious for actions that need constant and continuous movements like purchasing new vehicles, going on procession, gym, gardening; in short activities that are set in continuous motion are favoured during this nakshatra. Activities that change and transform with time are well suited under the domain of movable Nakshatras. 

Sthira Nakshatras: Rohini, Uttaraphalguni, Uttarashadha and Uttarabhadra are Sthira Nakshatras. These lunar constellations are ideal for activities that demand stability, steadiness, and fixity. Auspicious activities like laying foundations or building fences, inauguration of real estate buildings, planting trees, choosing, or joining a permanent job. 

Mridu Nakshatras: Chitra, Anuradha, Mrigashira and Revati are of soft quality making them optimal for activities that are tender, soft, and subtle in nature. Activities like wearing new apparels, learning divine arts or fine arts, physical union, massage, therapies, and beauty rituals. 

Ugra Nakshatras: Bharani, Magha, Purvaphalguni, Purvashadha, and Purvabhadra belong to this category of nakshatras- Ugra. These lunar constellations are ideal for activities that require anger, violence, impetus, or weapons. Destructive activities like demolishing an old building structure, commence war, enrapturing with force, or confronting enemies, battles are favoured by Ugra Nakshatras.

Tikshna Nakshatras: Moola, Jyeshta, Ardra and Ashlesha are of sharp nature. Astronomically also, these stars form a fine sharp structure. These tikshna stars are favourable for destructive and tantric activities like incantations, invoking old spirits or guides, imprisonment, for murder verdict, even fling for separation. These nakshatras are chosen to put an amicable end to something or abruptly stop something. Tantric activities and other spirit related activities such invoking dead spirits or Siddha’s come under this domain of Nakshatras.

Kshipra Nakshatras: Ashwini, Pushya, Hasta, and Abhijit are of Swift natured lunar constellations. These are favourable for activities that demand swiftness or agility like sports, mechanical industries, wearing ornaments, administering new medicine or vaccines, and travels. Activities that are of fast pace for a short time like taking antibiotics, medicines, remedies, or sports are performed in this nakshatra for instant and fast results. 

Misra Nakshatras: Krittika and Vishakha are of mixed nature lunar constellations. These nakshatras are optimal for activities like sincere worshiping, sacred fire ceremonies like yagnas, purchasing new décor, furniture, and electronics.