Independence Day

Independence Day is celebrated on 15 August commemorating the nation's independence from the rule of British Kingdom on 15 August 1947. On 15 August 1947, the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru raised the Indian national flag above the Lahori Gate of the Red Fort in Delhi. As a custom, on each subsequent Independence Day, the incumbent Prime Minister hoists the Indian flag and addresses the nation.

Independence Day 2023

Tue , 15th Aug 2023

Various European commerce traders had entered the Indian subcontinent by the 17th century. British traders in the name of East India Company fought local kingdoms and annexed the kingdoms through overwhelming military strength, establishing themselves as the dominant force around the 18th century. This forced annexation led to the Indian Rebellion of 1857, Sippoy mutiny , the Government of India Act 1858 that made the British Crown to assume direct control of Indian kingdom. In the following decades, various people gradually emerged across India formed various organisations and forms to fighting for freedom and democracy. Notable leaders conjoined and formed the Indian National Congress Party in 1885 aimed at freeing India from British rule. After world war I, the unpopular Rowlatt Act enraged Indian activists to gather common people and revolt against British for freedom and self-rule. This discontent among civilians of this period crystallised into nationwide non-violent and non-cooperation, and civil disobedience movements headed Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi.

Under the magnanimous leadership of Mahatma Gandhi, Indian National Congress (INC) and other political organisations led by freedom fighters launched a countrywide independence movement and rebel against the oppressive British government. Various movements like Sathyagraha movement, Quit India movement and other nonviolence movements led to freedom to India. After the World War II, British Prime Minister Clement Attlee announced on 20 February 1947 that the British government would grant complete self-governance to British India by June 1948 at the latest. During the same time, there was a continuous contention between the Congress and the Muslim League prevailing in the country, so the British government announced on 3 June 1947 that it had accepted the idea of partitioning British India into two states.

The Indian Independence Act 1947 of the Parliament of the United Kingdom partitioned British India into the two new independent dominions of India and Pakistan with effect from 15 August 1947. This also granted complete legislative authority and implicit right to secede from the British commonwealth. This partition of India in 1947 led to violent protests, riots, mass casualties, and displacement of almost 15 million people.

What happens on Independence Day?

Every year, the Prime Minister of India hoists the national flag at Delhi’s Red Fort and addresses the nation, followed by a military parade from Army, Navy and Airforce. The President of India also delivers the ‘address to the nation’ speech. In honour of the independence eve, twenty-one gun shots will be fired. Independence day is a national holiday. Independence Day is celebrated by flag-hoisting ceremonies, patriotic parades and various cultural events, competitions like debates, speeches, and quiz competitions across all Indian states and Union Territories.

Independence Day festival dates between 2019 & 2029




Thursday, 15th of August


Saturday, 15th of August


Sunday, 15th of August


Monday, 15th of August


Tuesday, 15th of August


Thursday, 15th of August


Friday, 15th of August


Saturday, 15th of August


Sunday, 15th of August


Tuesday, 15th of August


Wednesday, 15th of August

Other Related Festivals